Testimonials

Sarah Taylor
" My journey began 7 months before I met Betsy. I had had my second child in two years in November and started an 80 day workout and nutrition program to lose the baby weight that I had gained and to regain my confidence. I pushed myself for 80 days and lost a grand total of 5 pounds. I was frustrated, defeated and eating all of my feelings. Then decided to try and find the next quick fix that would help me make any type of progress. The next several months were full of low carb, no carb, whole30, diets of bars and shakes all day, and the scale barely moved. 
I reached out to Betsy in June after seeing a friend post about her on Instagram. As soon as I met her I knew that this was going to be the turning point in my journey. She has taught me more about how to have a healthy relationship with food than I could even imagine. She taught me that food can be used to fuel your body and help you lose weight when you are eating the right foods in the right amounts without being hungry all day long. She has shown me that eating healthy goes way beyond just eating chicken and broccoli and salads every day for the rest of my life. Since I began my journey in January I have lost 30 pounds. 17 of which came in the last 13 weeks working with Betsy. I still have some work to do but I know I can achieve the goals I have left using the tools Betsy has given me. This experience with her has forever changed the way I will look at food. No more quick fixes. Just new way of life. 

Travis King
"I have been serious about exercise and nutrition for as long as I can remember. I thought I knew what a proper diet looked like, I realized I was wrong once I started working with Betsy. I immediately felt more fueled during my rides and noticed I recovered much quicker. I have more energy throughout the day and am rarely hungry. Although this wasn’t my motivation, I lost body fat as well. Betsy is extremely responsive when I have questions. If you’re an endurance athlete or someone just looking to live a healthier life, I highly recommend Betsy as a partner in your journey."
Jaymee Castle
 "As a busy mom of three kids and an extremely full calendar of day job, family life, small business ownership demands, I recently found myself feeling frustrated with poor nutrition habits I couldn't seem to change on my own.  I have always enjoyed fitness and truly enjoy eating fresh, healthy foods, but once the kids were in bed I found myself snacking out of habit.  I reached out to Betsy seeking a firm accountability coach to help me break the cycle.  Betsy definitely forced my accountability during the weeks we worked together, but she also provided so much more!  She educated me from the start on what was going on with blood sugar cycles and my pattern of eating throughout the day.  She expressed genuine interest in understanding my specific day to day  schedule and then customized her recommendations to be realistic and easy to implement.  I felt set up for success from the beginning and felt results quick in the energy levels I had in the morning and in how my clothes fit.  I've been successful in achieving my goal weight and in sustaining it since I finished working with Betsy!"
Lauren Yoon, Athlete

“I workout and play tennis about 3-4 hours a day because I’m getting ready for college tennis. This whole year, I’ve been working towards strengthening my upper body and getting leaner so my muscles would show. However, I saw little muscle gain which was disappointing and I felt stuck. The one thing I haven’t taken seriously was my diet, so I decided to reach out to Betsy. My initial mindset about food was that I could eat whatever I wanted since I worked out a lot. After any training session, I would immediately go straight to my Honey Nut Cheerios or my Captain Crunch. After meeting Betsy, she suggested substituting cereal with a protein shake. Though I was sad to say goodbye to my delicious cereals, introducing protein shakes into my diet greatly increased my energy and my strength. I could finally feel myself getting stronger when I went to the gym and could see some abs peeping through too! Betsy has taught me what to eat before my practices and what to eat afterwards too. I didn’t use to eat before practice because eating anything would make my stomach upset. I just thought that I had a sensitive stomach, but I know now that I was not eating the right foods at the right time. Since working with Betsy, I’ve become more in tune with what upsets my stomach and what doesn’t. Also, I can last through my entire practices with energy to spare. My skin has started to clear up (I had bad acne), and I’ve started to lean out. Betsy is a great person to work with to help reset your mindset about food, and she always gives cheerful encouragements throughout the time working with her. Now I feel prepared more than ever for college tennis!”

Tara Campbell, lost 15 pounds
“3 ½ years after having a baby at 36 & quickly approaching 40 years old, I was fed up with the way I was feeling in my own mind & body. I was ready for a REAL change. I had been in & out of the gym since my late 20’s & was always trying the latest “fad” diet & workout. Of course, none of it ever worked long term. Through the course of all of that I found myself at the highest weight I had ever been & miserable. My best friend , Jen Kirchhofer & I had always talked about & shared the latest workouts & diets we were doing. After a 2+ year battle with breast cancer (& winning!), Jen was feeling the same way I was, fed up ready to change. She found Betsy & she shared her with me. I cannot EVER thank her enough. I met Betsy at a true low point in my life & she changed it! She listened to ME, I felt like she heard ME, & she was so upbeat, positive, &motivational. She was a real inspiration. She helped me see that I could eat clean & healthy & make that lifestyle change very easily. She taught me that I could adapt to the little things that life throws your way sometimes & still be healthy. I could still go out & be social with friends & not completely fall off of the rails. Best of all I was eating real food & food that I liked! Sugar was one of my biggest downfalls. Betsy made me look at it as the evil thing that it is, then she gave me the tools to fight the cravings & not go back down that dark hole. I have lost a total of 15 lbs & I am still going! I feel amazing, my confidence is back, & I have the tools I need to continue living a healthy life! Each time I would hit a goal she would ask me “do you love me?” Well, the answer was always & still is YES! So be brutally honest & upfront with her no matter how hard it is. I promise she will make it happen for you too! Remember, this is not a diet, it’s a lifestyle change for the better! Betsy is AMAZING!!!”


Marian Ottenberg, 66 year old, lost 23

"Having been active and energetic all my life (working multiple jobs, playing tennis, walking, etc...) at 66 I'm wondering....WHAT HAS HAPPENED? I was 30+ pounds overweight, had less energy, my clothes did not fit, I was eating unhealthy and was out of shape! I was not happy with myself until my daughter introduced me to Betsy. What a blessing! Betsy has changed how I eat and my outlook on getting back into shape has reinforced that no matter your age, you can do this!! I've worked with Betsy for two months with tremendous results. I've lost 23 pounds by eating healthy foods and doing cardio exercises at least three times a week. I now have a positive attitude that I can accomplish my goal to get 'fit' again and I'm feeling pretty darn good about it! What a transformation in my life and body!! So kudos to Betsy and all she has inspired me to do!
THANK YOU, THANK YOU, BETSY!"

Amber Sayle, 40 years old, mom of 2
"As I approached my 40th birthday, I knew I did not want to start my 40th year looking and feeling the way I did. I had also committed to running my first marathon in October! I am a runner and love to workout,  however, I was always feeling tired and sluggish. I never had any energy and the pounds never came off. Coming from a family involved in the fitness industry, I knew how to eat clean and properly, but being a mom of two active boys, I always had an excuse - a late night at the baseball field, help with homework, golf practice at 5:30, etc...When I finally decided I was tired of excuses and ready to get my healthy lifestyle back, I called Betsy. I knew I wanted to start my marathon training looking and feeling my very best. Since I started working with Betsy in April, I have lost 17 lbs and shaved 45 seconds off my running pace. I have more energy and confidence than ever! And thanks to Betsy, I’ve learned that healthy food can travel! The best snack at the ballpark is a Greek yogurt with a few almonds! As I continue to work with Betsy during my marathon training, I learn something new from her each week. I am so excited to continue this journey with her cannot wait to see her at the finish line in Chicago! Thank you, Betsy!!"

Paige Anders, 48 years old, lost 14 pounds
 
"I want to encourage anyone who may be thinking about contacting Betsy to “Just Do It”! Working with her has turned out to be a life altering decision. I started pretty young with unhealthy eating habits. I'm not exaggerating when I say I've struggled with my weight and emotional eating for 40 years. A lot of yo-yo dieting over the years left me frustrated and depressed and the weight just kept creeping up.  Last January 2017, I decided to start training for a Olympic distance triathlon thinking I'd be able to get in shape and drop some pounds.  Well,  my fitness did improve but the scale would not budge!  I knew that I was not eating properly for my training, but just didn't have an idea where to start.  I also believed that even if I didn't eat well, working out would take care of it.  I heard about Betsy through a friend and this spring decided to contact her.  All I can say is WOW! My plan is very straight forward and I am able to eat a lot of food and not depriving myself. I've lost 14 lbs while training more than ever.  I have much more energy and am recovering quicker.   The day I knew this plan was working was the day I turned down chips, donuts and M & Ms at work.  Usually junk food at work is my biggest weakness, but the food I brought looked and tasted so much better!   The best feeling is knowing this is a lifestyle for me now and not just a fad diet.   Thank you, Betsy!!!"
 

Robyn Smith, 49, mom of 2, and works full time

"After having knee surgery in December 2015, I ended up in physical therapy for 6 months AND gained 20+ pounds. I was absolutely miserable, inside and out. A friend recommended that I contact Betsy for nutritional counseling. I found her website and immediately thought there is no way that she will be able to relate to me and help me get back on track – have you seen her??? She is a beast and I am a hot mess. Well, I was wrong. When I first met her, I said something like, “my goal is to lose weight and there is no way I am ever going to run a marathon or even a half marathon.” She laughed and just smiled at me. So, my journey with Betsy started on January 13, 2017. Over the span of 18 months, I lost 37 pounds. I had some major plateaus that were very frustrating, but we regrouped and conquered them. I am so glad that I took the leap and reached out to Betsy for help. I am forever grateful for her patience and inspiration. I still have some more weight to lose with my ultimate goal of losing 50 pounds by my 50th birthday, which will be on October 7th – the same day that I will run my first marathon, the Chicago Marathon. Yes, I am eating those initial words and understanding why Betsy just knowingly smiled when I said them. She knew that with my weight loss that I would conquer all kinds of obstacles, both mentally and physically. She has become one of my dearest friends and constant motivators. Knowing her as I do now, I still think she is a beast as I see her crush her goals, but she really does personify beauty in everyone and everything that she touches."

Crystal Shelton, 43 and mom of 3, lost 34 pounds

"I cannot honestly say enough amazing things about Betsy. She has changed my whole direction! I had become so frustrated with years of seeing the scale go up and down. I exercised daily but did not have the correct relationship or knowledge about food. I contacted Betsy in an effort to figure out how to change the roller coaster of dieting, get control of my body, and learn about food. Growing up in the south does not necessarily teach you healthy food habits! I followed her plan, took all advice she gave me and soaked up all the knowledge she would pass to me about food. I was beyond determined to change my body and my habits. The scale started moving and it was like magic to me. Betsy gave me support, encouragement, and cheered me on every step of the way. I’ll forever be grateful for her help and I know if I ever need her in the future, she’ll be right there for me!"

Jenny Pleasant, lost 8 pounds

“I was so excited to work with Betsy to trim down my waist. I’d always been working out, but never really seeing the results I wanted to in my belly. In the 8 weeks we worked together, I lost 8 pounds. I also learned so much about what I was eating and how it was working against me, instead of with my efforts in the gym. My only regret is that I didn’t do the body fat analysis because I got so much stronger during those 2 months, too! I had so much more (consistent) energy, which helped fuel my workouts. I still have work to do, but with Betsy’s guidelines, I know I can get there.”


Rachel Stovall, lost 16 pounds
 

"I’ve had an unhealthy relationship with food most of my adult life. I love to exercise...but I also love my food. I would exercise throughout the week and eat whatever I wanted. As a single teacher, I was surrounded by junk at work and had zero accountability for what I ate when at home. Like many other women, I tend to eat away my feelings —and I’ve eaten a lot of feelings over the years! My eating habits were completely out of control. I had gained weight, felt gross, lacked confidence and could not snap out of this unhealthy cycle on my own. Then I emailed Betsy. Betsy came up with a detailed plan that taught me exactly what to eat, when to eat and how to eat. As a result, I started losing weight—-without even exercising!!! After a few weeks, I started adding in a few days of interval training. Never have I LOST weight by eating so much and exercising so little! When foot surgery completely immobilized me for several weeks, Betsy adapted my meal plan to help me continue losing weight. Since starting with Betsy, I’ve lost 16 pounds. I could not have done it without her constant support, accountability and encouragement! Thank you, Betsy!!!!!"

Vanessa Chandler, lost 18 pounds

"In December 2017, I found myself heavier than I have ever been not pregnant. I have a full-time job and two kids who are very active in sports and those became my excuses to neglect my eating habits. I had become comfortable eating whatever I wanted. I contacted Betsy in mid-January and we have worked together since then. She has provided me a manageable and sustainable plan to lose the weight I’ve struggled with on and off for the past several years. She has also provided me with the accountability I needed to succeed. Since Christmas, I have lost 18 pounds and am down two sizes! Thanks, Betsy!!"

Amanda Letheran, lost 15 pounds

.
"For the past few years I’ve been running myself into the ground with training. I’ve had a really unhealthy relationship with food for most of my life and in order to compensate for that relationship I took my training to the extreme. I weighed in for my third Ironman last year at 155 pounds. By Christmas I weighed 157 which is the most I’ve ever weighed. I was putting in hours and hours of training in order to get that number down, but it’d never budge. If the number didn’t go down, I would skip meals. I felt like that was the only way I could gain control, but it ended up having the opposite effect. I’d overeat and wake up the next morning feeling guilt and shame. So I’d skip breakfast and lunch. I was stuck in this vicious cycle of eating too much, exercising too much, and then not eating enough.  I started working with Betsy in January 2018 and she helped me break this cycle. Food isn’t as scary to me. I’ve learned that in order to honor my body, I need to nourish it and that means eating six times a day. I’ve learned how to pair my foods appropriately. I’ve learned how to handle social gatherings involving food. I’ve learned that I don’t need to count calories and or try extreme diets. Betsy introduced me to a lifestyle change—something I can implement with confidence for the rest of my life. I now sit comfortably between 142-144, and for once in my entire life, I feel satisfied and in control. Even with my splurge meal once a week :) I have lost 15 pounds and feel the best I have ever felt!!! THANK YOU, BETSY"


Lauren McAllister, lost 14 pounds

“Wow, just wow! I reached out to Betsy in hopes of adjusting to a new lifestyle, but I had no idea just how much I would achieve and learn in just 9 weeks. Eating the right things at the right time makes a huge difference in how I feel, how I look, and helps me plan out my work day too. I am so grateful for the guidance, knowledge, and consideration to what works and doesn’t work for me. Thanks, Betsy!!”
 

Grace Buckner

"I reached out to Betsy two months after having my son. Right away I knew it was a good fit for me because she was so relatable as a mom herself. I was seeking someone to hold me accountable. Although I knew how to eat well, after 9 months of eating whatever I wanted, I developed some bad habits. Betsy was so encouraging and thoughtful as she took into consideration my calories and nutrition in order to continue nursing my son. As a sleep deprived new mother, I was so thankful for all of the meal options and recipes that Betsy provided me with! Betsy makes herself so available to her clients for questions and to offer encouragement. One of the greatest takeaways from working with Betsy has been a healthier relationship with food and being aware with how much better my body feels when I’m eating well. With the help of Betsy, I have gotten back on track and look forward to continuing my healthy lifestyle."
 

Bruce Hartmann, 60 years old, lost 16 pounds (pictured on left)

"It's not about the destination, it is about the journey. I have had the opportunity to work with Betsy a couple of times; initially to meet my weight loss goal, which has been a 16 pound loss. Then in the fall, I wanted to lose a bit more weight and to take my healthy lifestyle to the next level. Each time she has provided me with an easy to follow plan, the support to follow through, and the motivation to achieve my goal. If you want to improve your health and fitness, I can truly say Betsy Johnson will help you on your journey."
 

Kathryn Evans, 21 years old, lost 11 pounds

"A healthy diet has been a huge part of my life since childhood. Because I have always played sports, I relied on eating healthy foods to fuel my workouts. As a college student my schedule is always changing, and I found myself not eating a balanced diet. As a result, I noticed a lack of energy and gradual weight gain. In order to help me lose a few pounds, fuel my runs, and learn how to construct balanced meals, I made the decision to meet with Betsy. The first time I met with Betsy she gave me a nutritional plan with suggested meals and snacks. The most important aspect for me was to plan ahead. I learned how to cook and feel comfortable making meals in a short amount of time. She helped me combine foods to create filling meals and snacks that provided me with enough energy for runs and workouts. Many cravings or dips in energy went away, and I felt more motivated to exercise. She gave me the tools and knowledge to maintain a healthy lifestyle while juggling a hectic schedule. Her accountability also was a big part of the process, which helped me stay on track every step of the way. I learned how to properly fuel my body and give it the nutrients it needs to perform at my highest potential. Over the 8 weeks I worked with Betsy, I lost over 11 pounds. Even with just a small drop in weight, I feel so much more energized throughout the day. This weekend I am running my first half marathon. With the help of Betsy, I feel like this is only the beginning of a lifelong fitness journey."


Caroline Madden, lost 7 pounds

"It took me over six months to have the courage to reach out to Betsy. I had gained 10 lbs in the past 18 months. I was constantly tired and never had any energy. I would complain about how unhealthy I felt, but never did anything about it. I have a crazy work schedule that includes days, nights, and weekends. It seemed impossible to eat healthy. I would rarely cook meals at home, and the thought of going to the grocery store seemed overwhelming. With Betsy's help, I was able to pick out healthy items at the grocery and now cook at least 4 meals at home per week. I've lost 7 lbs and I'm back into running 4-5 times a week. Betsy helped me get back on the right track to a healthy lifestyle, and I couldn't thank her enough!"

Jennifer Billingsley, lost 20 pounds

"September 12, 2017 was my first meeting with Betsy. I had started running and really working out when I turned 40 in 2013 because the weight was slowly adding up. That worked for a while because I had the mind set of workout and eat what you want. Then came a point where no matter what I did the weight did not come off. I have had people tell me over the years of how I should be eating to lose weight. I heard them, but deep down I was not ready to make that change for myself. Last year, I was introduced to Betsy through my best friend Muna who had lost a lot of weight before her Ironman. I have lost 20 pounds so far and even maintained my weight between Thanksgiving and Christmas. This is just the beginning of my journey and I cannot wait to see where it will lead me."
 

Muna Rodriguez-Taylor, lost 20 pounds

"On September 24, 2017, I finished my 3rd Ironman competition with a PR time of 13:11:10 in Chattanooga.  The great thing about this, or one of the great things, is that I had recently celebrated a 20 lb weight loss leading up to this competition! I had started working with Betsy in June.  I was 166 lbs, and knew it wasn’t any fault of health issues, any fault of anything except not eating the way I needed to for my lifestyle.  So leading up to this event, I worked very hard to get to my goal of 153 lbs, and then surpassed it to 146! o flash forward to today.  I still enjoy hanging out between 147 and 149 lbs, and have enjoyed a few more PR’s since then! In December I PR’d my full marathon, in February I PR’d my half marathon and my 30k by over 9 minutes! I’ve had a few people ask me how I was knocking out 2018 with PR’s for my runs.  I still attribute it to my nutrition! Since losing the weight and looking at my menu with a whole new set of eyes (Betsy’s!), I have been able to catch those moments where in the past I would veer off course and my weight would creep up.  With the original weight loss, I am now able to train harder, thus build muscle while maintaining weight, and thus run faster CHARGING THE HILLS FASTER! Even through the holidays, and then a major life change, I am still blissfully sending my weight into Betsy while we manage my macros each day and week. I’m not done yet.  I’ve decided to try to lose a few more (because I know I healthfully can!) and work on a BQ time for 2018! I think with the training I’m doing and the advice and guidance of Betsy, it’s an attainable 2018 goal!"


Donna Mostella, lost 15 pounds

"I started with Betsy on October 13, 2017 and stopped on February 8, 2018. The reason why I went with a nutrition coach is because I wasn't seeing the results I wanted working on my own. My hormones were out of wack, I had hot flashes, and was not sleeping. First, I prayed for a nutrition coach for a few months and the Lord answered my prayers! I noticed on social media one of my friends was working with Betsy. After doing some homework, I knew I found the right person to be my nutrition coach.  About 4 weeks into my journey, I noticed I was gaining strength and losing weight. My fitness coach told me that I was a strong weightlifter. On January 27, I went to Nashville and qualified for the open series for USAW weightlifting competition! My hot flashes reduced and I was able to sleep through the night.  I lost 15 pounds and went from wearing a medium shirt to an extra small. My journey is just beginning." 
 

Jen Kirchhofer, lost 15 pounds


"The past several years have been a whirlwind of chaos. I was 37 and diagnosed with breast cancer. The next two years were spent battling the evil beast with aggressive chemotherapy and many surgeries. Proud to say, I slayed the monster and stand victorious over its lifeless mass! Hurray!! After the smoke cleared, I was left with a weak and tired little body. Not only was there damage from chemo, I also went through menopause chemically induced by chemo and solidified through surgery. Now the journey begins. Everything is different. Nothing taste the same. Nothing fits the same. Nothing feels the same. You get the idea. I attempted old methods of eating and working out. No such luck. I don’t know who’s body I’m in but this just isn’t working. Super frustrated and feeling sorry for myself, my husband suggested Betsy. Betsy Johnson. Just her name sounded positive. She didn’t disappoint! Immediately she was like a best friend . I rambled. She listened. Then she offered an overwhelming amount of priceless information: Scientific reasoning, meal plans, schedules, grocery list, restaurant guides, recipes... I couldn’t believe it! Everything seemed so simple. It was brilliant. Then with that huge smile she said, ”let’s do this!” I was hooked! Her plans adapt to your lifestyle. She reviews your food log and will adjust accordingly. Weekly weigh ins to track your progress. Lots of sweet and motivating messages. Just after a couple of days I felt really good. It’s amazing how a few minor changes can make such a huge difference. I have lost 15 pounds in 8 weeks! I don’t have a specific weight I’m trying to reach. Just want to feel good in this new body. Thank you Betsy!! You are amazing!" 
 

Ken Bodie, lost 15 pounds

"I first hired Betsy on May 14, 2014. She had my body composition tested and I weighed in at 195.4 lbs which included 46.4 lbs of fat, and 149 lbs of lean muscle. I was already actively working out 5-6 days a week, but could not lose weight. By following Betsy’s nutrition plan of eating 6 times a day with lean protein and complex carbs, I never went hungry. Betsy wanted me to reduce my alcohol intake, but I told her that I enjoyed my wine and beer too much and did not follow her advice. On July 9, 2014 I had my body composition tested again and I weighed in at 180.1 lbs with 29.9 lbs of fat and 150.2 lbs of lean muscle. I had lost 16.5 lbs of fat and gained 1.2 lbs of muscle. I lost 15.3 lbs in 56 days and never went hungry! My weight stayed pretty consistent until this past year, I began following Betsy’s plan on my own. I have lost 12.4 lbs in 21 days (this time I cut out the alcohol as well). At the age of 56, I have lost 15 pounds with the only change in my lifestyle being my nutrition. If you want to lose weight the correct way, I would highly recommend Betsy." 
 

Lisa Hall, lost 10 pounds

"Before I began working with Betsy, I used deprivation as my main tool to control my weight. For years, I would always skip breakfast, eat a turkey wrap or a pb&j sandwich in the afternoon, and then nothing else until dinner. I ate this way all while teaching 10-12 group fitness classes and running 25 to 30 miles/week. My poor diet began to catch up with me over the past 5 years resulting in numerous injuries, including 5 [Major] surgeries on my left knee and multiple stress fractures, the most serious being in my left hip. Once I started eating according to Betsy's plan, great things started happening! Although it was a lot of food, I stuck with it, all the while trusting her. First, I was so excited to have energy to spare after teaching 2 or 3 classes in the evening, even after running the same morning. Second, I was literally shocked when I stepped on the scales and had lost a couple of pounds after the first week. This helped to motivate me to continue eating more than I've eaten in years. Apparently I have fired up my metabolism, which isn't easy to do at the age of 57! Week after week, I have continued to lose weight--10 pounds so far! I now weigh less than I did after I had my children over 30 years ago. I am lighter and, therefore, running faster and with less effort. My goal now is to make this new way of eating a habit and a lifestyle that I can maintain forever. Most of all, I am hoping to PR in a couple of goal races I have coming up this spring, while staying injury free. Thank you, Betsy, for literally changing my life!" 
 

Jackie McDonald, lost 22 pounds

"When I met with Betsy to discuss losing weight before my wedding, the first thing I said to her is, "I know how to eat healthy, I just need the accountability." Turns out, I was SO wrong! While working with Betsy, I learned so much about nutrition, healthy eating habits and how my body reacts to certain foods. I love how her program is sustainable and changes the way you think about eating. Not only was I more confident in my body as my wedding day approached, but I felt amazing!! I saw a change in my weight, of course, but also in my endurance to run, in the health of my skin, and my chronic headaches have gone away! I did not realize I had 22 pounds to lose, but I sure did, and I could not have done it without Betsy's guidance and knowledge!"

 
Craig Cobb, lost 15 pounds

"My wife, Jessie, had shown me Betsy’s website a few times and I told her I would do the nutrition program with her. I had put on too much weight and had made some halfhearted efforts into exercising regularly and trying to eat healthier. I thought I knew how to eat well, but it turns out I had no clue what I was doing! Betsy’s plan wasn’t a crazy, restrictive diet where I had to cut out all grains or dairy. It was a simple plan that was easy to stick to and something that is maintainable long term. Betsy helped me push through a plateau and I ended up losing more weight than my goal. I lost 15 pounds in 12 weeks and currently weigh what I did in high school." 
 

Jessie Cobb, lost 10 pounds

"One and a half years after having my first baby I found myself stuck in bad eating habits and struggling to get back into exercising. My husband and I have always been active and athletic people, so this was very frustrating. It was time we held ourselves accountable. I found Betsy on Instagram, and we decided to take the plunge. I’ll admit I was very nervous about the “dieting” and meal planning. I do not work regular hours and was worried about my work environment and keeping up with the plan. I work a mix of day and late evening shifts and also some weekends. Well, just after the first few days I felt better than ever. I lost 6-7 pounds in the first 8 weeks and decided to work with Betsy another 4 weeks losing a total of 10 pounds in 12 weeks. I was amazed in not only how easy this was, but how much nutrition accounts for weight loss. My focus was eating right. If I could work in some exercise during the week I would, but I wouldn’t stress about getting in so many work outs per week. I am down to a size 4 and was in a size 6-8 when I started. I cannot thank Betsy enough for her encouragement and guidance. She is the best motivator and truly loves what she does."


Matt Gigliotti, lost 40 pounds

 
"After a tough year of grad school, I developed some pretty horrible eating habits before realizing I needed to make a change. I had given up on cooking, and instead implemented a rotating meal schedule of chicken tenders, chinese food, and cheesesteaks. I had barely enough energy to get through the day, and gave up on trying to get to the gym. Needless to say, I slowly began to gain weight, and as my habits got worse, the weight gain wasn’t so slow anymore. My Mom, being the awesome Mom she is, set me up with Betsy. I told Betsy all about my lifestyle and eating habits, and we met and decided the types of food I would want to eat. We made a comprehensive plan that scheduled when and what to eat, with a lot of options for variety. After some tweaks were made to make sure I wasn’t hungry throughout the day, it was the easiest diet I’ve ever tried.  The food was tasty, I was allowed to eat a lot of it, and with Betsy as my own personal cheerleader texting me every day, I began to feel better almost immediately. I started losing weight, and with the boost in energy, I got back into the gym, and started to lose even more weight when combined with Betsy’s diet. In the end, I went from from 236 to 196 pounds (40 pounds!!!). Thanks Betsy!"
 

Ellie Whitesell

"My 15-year-old daughter Sally had not been feeling well for months. She slept too much, was rarely agreeable and never felt good. She finally asked to meet with Mrs. Betsy, but had strong opinions about not eating the same foods as her parents. Betsy immediately pointed out that Sally was not eating enough. Betsy taught her about combinations of foods she should be eating to properly fuel her body. We changed breakfasts, lunches and snacks with more healthy options. Betsy also helped her make better choices when she does need convenience food, like Chick-fil-A. From a mom's perspective, the benefits are completely worth the investment. Sally is feeling better, sleeping better, improving her grades, is kinder, being more responsible and the list continues! Teenagers may not listen to their mothers but they will hear Betsy! The impact she has made on this child is huge!!!! Thank you so much, Betsy!"

Frank Southall, lost 30 lbs


"I initiated a low carb diet earlier this year and had some success losing weight on my own. I came to realize, however, that my weight loss was occurring without much consideration as to proper nutrients and likely included muscle loss perhaps even more than fat. At this point, I turned to Betsy Johnson and Blake Holmes for help with diet and exercise. Betsy showed me not just what to eat at home and away but she also taught me things such as when to eat. Each time I’ve raised red flags as to certain foods I don’t like, she has provided me with alternatives. Given that my family eats out several times a week, I really like that she has helped me understand what to order at various types of restaurants. Blake has helped me develop exercise habits that have begun to rebuild my lost muscle. He’s also raised the bar on my workouts; I am accomplishing far more with his help than what I did on my own. Both have talked to me about the importance of properly fueling my workouts. I’ve lost over 30 pounds this year and with Betsy and Blake’s help and encouragement, I feel smarter about the food choices I make each day and the path I follow to keep improving my health."
 

Muna Rodriguez-Taylor, lost 20 lbs in 11 weeks

"In 2001, I weighed 230 lbs and lost it over the course of 3 years. 15 years later, after Ironman Louisville, the weight started creeping up. I was training 6-8 hours some days, so couldn’t figure out what was going on. By the end of it I was up to 170, depressed, fatigued, and not really sure where to go. I discovered my A1C was high and I was pre-diabetic. The issue was the amount of carbs I was eating and the lack of fat. So, I added fat to my diet, cut sugar and carbs, and voila 20 lbs gone! In 2017, the issues started coming back. As race season amped up, each weekend was filled carbs and eating out for convenience. The doctor reported excellent bloodwork, so this time, I needed help. My skirts were tight and my workout shirts were embarrassing to wear. I either needed to fix it or buy new clothes! A friend told me about Betsy, and I started right away!  Betsy designed a plan, and we were both excited to get started. My first weigh-in on June 13th was 166.8. The weight came off slowly in the beginning, down 6 lbs in the first month. But then my body clicked, and each week I was down another 2 lbs. When I made my goal weight of 153, I decided I was not done yet. I stayed with Betsy, and the weight is still coming off! I am now down to 149, that’s 20 lbs lost in 11 weeks! The secret? Structure, discipline, and anticipation of Friday morning weigh-ins! Knowing that I was being held accountable really helped. Betsy is like the little voice in my head that tells me when I’m on the right track, or should pull back a little. Thanks, Betsy!"
 

Artemis Dedes and Grace Vallante

"My daughter Grace, a senior in high school, started her weight loss journey with Betsy in May. I typically prepare healthy meals and we usually eat at home, but Grace began gaining weight last year. She is a very active in sports and dancing, and we couldn’t figure out why she kept gaining weight. Thanks to Betsy we discovered Grace was not eating nearly enough or often enough to sustain her active lifestyle. Working with Betsy has benefited Grace tremendously. Along with the weight loss, Betsy has given Grace the knowledge on how and when to eat right, which will be so important as she transitions to college!" 
"Through the past 12 weeks with Betsy, I learned a lot about what to eat, and how to do it right. My ultimate goal was to lose weight, but I also wanted to learn how to make smart choices. I was hesitant going into this program because I thought I would have boring meals that consisted of a little bit of meat and a whole lot of vegetables. However, between Betsy having many recipes that were fun and delicious and my mom being very creative with food, I learned that healthy food could be delicious!"

 

Claire Brock

"Betsy has really helped me during my preseason workouts for basketball! She has helped me learn how to correctly fuel my body for this stage in my life. I feel energized while I workout thanks to Betsy's nutritional tips and food. My favorite foods from Betsy's Pantry are the shrimp pack, edamame succotash and the pumpkin protein muffins! Thanks, Betsy!" 

John Osborne, lost 10 lbs

"I've been pretty good about working out my entire adult life, but once I hit 40, no amount of exercise seemed to keep me as fit and energized as I wanted to be. After consulting with Betsy, that all changed. My weight shot down 10 pounds and my energy level soared. And now, with Betsy's Pantry, staying on track has never been easier. Betsy didn't just educate me about nutrition, she's made nutrition convenient. I can't recommend her services enough!"

John Tackett, lost 36 lbs in 3 1/2 months

"If you are reading this testimonial, it probably means that you are ready to lose weight. I wish I could tell you that Betsy has a magic wand and you will instantly lose the weight that you want, but that is not possible. You cannot lose weight without personal commitment, sacrifice and hard work. If you are ready to put forth the effort, Betsy has the plan, knowledge and encouragement to set you up for success. For me, this has been a complete lifestyle change, and I hit my goal to lose 36 pounds in 3 1/2 months. The weight is not only staying off, but I keep losing because I’ve made the commitment to a healthier lifestyle.  I could not have done it without Betsy. She kept me grounded through the whole process. When I had big losses she encouraged me to dig even deeper and push harder and when I had weeks with very little loss, she reminded me of my past success. I travel a lot, and when I traveled, she helped me plan meals. When I didn’t pack the right food and couldn’t find it locally, she gave me new suggestions. Without Betsy I would never have reached my goal. I highly recommend her to anyone looking for success in trying to lose weight!" 

 

Patricia, lost 9 lbs in 2 months

"After turning 50 in April, I came to Betsy for help with my nutrition before my daughter’s wedding the following July. I worked with her for 2 months with the goals of feeling better and learning to eat right, and obviously to lose a few pounds.  I have a very demanding job as a judge and rarely eat lunch and cannot predict when court will finish for the day. I would generally skip or have cereal for breakfast, starve until 3:30, then pick up fast food for lunch and eat pretty light for dinner.  I knew several friends who had worked with Betsy and had experienced great permanent results, so I gave her a call. I cannot say enough about how clear, direct and easy it is to follow Betsy’s plan and have rapid results. I’m eating more than I did before, I just eat more often and in the right combinations for energy and fullness. I feel great and lost 9 pounds in those 2 months, and keeping the weight off has been easy. . I look at food so differently now: I eat for energy and love the healthy choices. It’s actually simpler to cook and plan with Betsy’s direction than it is to think up my own menus. Because I am not exhausted every day when I get home, finally, at age 50, I am working out with a personal trainer and really love the exercise. I am going to incorporate healthy eating into the rest of my life and enjoy the extra energy I have. Thanks Betsy!" 

 

Eric, lost 33 lbs

"I've always enjoyed exercise, working out, and long distance running, and I used to play soccer and run cross country. I'm middle aged now, and a few years ago, I had to have surgery on both knees because of torn meniscus, mostly because I was overweight and continued to run long distances and play sports. After my surgery, running and staying active was becoming very difficult.   When I first started working with Betsy, my goal was to lose 20 pounds. After just a few weeks on her program, I could tell my body was starting to change. Betsy taught me a whole new way of looking at food and how certain foods fuel your body. Learning these things will benefit me for life! I had more energy, a good attitude and I handled stress a lot better. I was running and exercising more and more. My running became faster, distances were longer and I was feeling good, so I set a goal to lose another 10 pounds. I ended up losing 33 pounds in total and am running and exercising like I did in college! I’m at 185 now and never thought a size 34 waist was even possible for me. People say that I look like a new person and that they don’t recognize me. But I tell them, THIS IS WHO I REALLY AM!" 


Alan Sims, lost 20 pounds in 80 days

"I recently came back from a vacation and looked at pictures of myself and realized I needed to lose weight. After seeing good results from friends who had worked with Betsy, I decided to give her a call. I had tried different diet programs in the past, some worked better than others, but I always seemed to end up right back where I started. I don’t consider Betsy’s plan a diet, it’s more of a lifestyle change. She gives you the power to make informed decisions on what you eat. I not only lost weight, I felt better, I had more energy and slept better. I would highly recommend Betsy’s Nutritional Consulting to anyone who wants to lose a few pounds, but more importantly, feel better about what and how you eat!"

Davis Bodie, lost 100 lbs in 22 months

"22 months ago I was the definition of unhealthy. Since finishing my college football career my training table eating habits remained, but the workouts stopped. I was an offensive lineman in high school and college and had always been a big guy. I prided myself that even though I had stopped playing and working out, I was basically the same weight and considered myself somewhat healthy. The changes that Betsy brought into my life weren't a secret formula that I had never known. They were simply lifestyle choices that I had to make. With the right guidance, I was able to instill those habits into my life and have reaped the benefits from Day One. Setbacks come, sure, but they also go. While I am not yet where I want to be in my fitness goal, I know that Betsy won't stop pushing me until I get there, and probably after too."

Robin Turner, Lost 30 pounds

 

 “I am very proud of how far I have come and my journey going forward. I’m so very thankful that my path crossed with Betsy’s. I have tried to think about my biggest take away from all of her help, and its not just one thing….although, not eating the same cardboard meal everyday is awesome! I am such an emotional eater….that’s my problem. I have trouble controlling my response to stress and do not channel it into something healthy. I came to Betsy broken and in tears with the goal of competing in a 70.3 triathlon, however my goals morphed as we continued along. It was so awesome when I discovered that all that had been holding me back on the rowing machine was my belly that was in the way! I’m a pretty good rower now! Betsy has given me knowledge that I will have forever and she leads by example! Definitely not an armchair coach. I am getting better everyday and getting stronger everyday. I give her contact number to everyone that I know because she is that awesome. Thank you so much!”

Dawn McKinney, lost 14 lbs in 8 weeks

"Everyone knows that having a baby drastically changes your body. But a lot of times, I feel like we use that as an excuse when we're not in shape. My youngest just turned 9, so I definitely couldn't use "post baby body" as an excuse anymore. As I began to get close to the weight I was when I was pregnant with her, I knew I had to make a change. I had tried several fad diets, but what I needed was a lifestyle change, not just a diet. That's when I heard about Betsy. I took the plunge and signed on for 8 weeks of nutritional counseling. I say plunge because I knew it wasn't going to be easy, and it was going to take a lot of effort on my part. I'm a single mother who works an average of 48 hours or more most weeks, most days being 10-12 hour days. And like many children, my two are involved in a lot of activities. Needless to say, our life is pretty hectic. When you make your health and well being a priority, anything is possible. You go to the gym at 5am before you go to work, or at 7pm when you get off. You prepare your meals ahead of time, even if it takes you 3 hours to do so. As I enter my last week of working with Betsy, I'm down 13.8 pounds, almost to my goal weight in just 8 weeks! I have so much more energy, and just generally feel great! She has been a fantastic motivator and has helped me tremendously through the process. People often ask me when I'm going off my diet. Well, I'm not. And it's not a diet, it's a lifestyle change!"

Ashly Sims, reached goal weight after 3rd pregnancy


"After being pregnant 3 times in under two years my body had been inconsistently up and down with my weight and body fat. When I got pregnant the third time, I put on weight dramatically. I was eating nonstop and making terrible choices. I had no energy and felt terrible about myself. I met Betsy through a friend and had remembered a conversation we all had about nutrition and decided to reach out to her. We met towards the beginning of my second trimester and Betsy created a healthy and clean eating plan for me. It was not to lose weight, but to maintain healthy weight gain throughout my pregnancy while giving my body all of the nutrients that my baby boy and I needed. Within just one week my energy was back up. Throughout my pregnancy I gained the recommended amount of weight (almost 30 pounds) at a steady pace. I had so much energy that I managed to run throughout my entire pregnancy and my delivery was a breeze! Betsy and I agreed to meet when I was ready after giving birth. We then met again 1 month after giving birth. She created a two-month plan for me. It was not about counting calories, but eating clean and nourishing food. I was shocked this time because I was never hungry, but still losing weight. I appreciate that Betsy practiced what she preached and we really built a friendship throughout the process. Not only did she help with diet, but helped me get back on track with an exercise plan, meet a new trainer and helped me get creative in the kitchen to cook for my entire family. By week 10 postpartum I was back down to my goal weight. I feel better than ever and enjoy my Betsy meals from Betsy's pantry every week! I am almost 31 years old and can honestly say I feel healthier and stronger than I ever have. I can't thank her enough for everything she has done for me!" 

 Mimi Shymlock, lost 20 lbs

"My sister represented so many things to me: inner strength (spiritual), positivity (mental), and will (physical drive). Niki believed that if her spiritual, physical, and mental were aligned then she was the best person she could be, but in order to have all those things you have to work hard at it EVERY DAY! After she passed, I had an urgency to put into motion what she shared with me. I thought that if I fueled my body with all the right foods and exercised that it would help my fragile mental state! And that is what led me to Betsy.  I am beyond grateful for her direction on how to treat my body! I truly know that all the tools she has given me will be a lifestyle change that I will follow forever! She has given me such confidence in not giving up and pushing through! Coming to her was much more than losing weight, that was just an added bonus! I do enjoy fitting into smaller jeans, but that was not the reason that I came to Betsy. I came to try Niki’s formula, and she is so right! They all work together!  I just want to thank Betsy for being with me every step of the way on this journey! She and Niki gave me the drive and motivation to turn my grief into something positive! Betsy’s passion for what she does shines so bright!!" 

Philip Icuss, lost 33 lbs in 5 months

"I have struggled with my weight my entire life, and going to college didn't help at all. At graduation, I was the heaviest I've ever been: 222 lbs on a 5' 7" frame. When I moved back home, I knew that I had to make a change in my diet, but had no idea where to start. This is where Betsy comes in. It was the best decision I've made to this day. Betsy isn't just a nutrition consultant that helps you transform your body; she helps you change your own lifestyle. When I started the "Betsy Plan" as I've come to call it, I was 217 lbs and 33% body fat. My final Bod Pod before going back on my own 5 months later was 184 lbs at 19.7% body fat! 33 pounds in 5 months; who knew it was possible! I can't thank you enough for changing my life, Betsy!"

Andy, lost 33 pounds in 5 months

 "I want to thank Betsy for all that she did for me over a 5-month period. I was frustrated with my weight, energy and how I felt overall. She made everything easy and held me accountable to hitting small goals. I started this journey at 217 pounds, now I am holding at 184! Wow is all I can say. Thanks, Betsy, for helping me change how I feel and look. Everyone asked me how I did this and ‘Betsy' is all I have to say! Please keep blessing all of us old, overweight and frustrated guys!"


Jill Hanggi, lost 25 lbs in 6 months 

 "Six months ago, Betsy and I had our initial nutrition consultation. I was extremely frustrated and skeptical. I felt like I exercised a lot and ate healthy, but kept adding a pound or two every year. I had resigned myself to believe that this was just a fact of life. Betsy gave me the direction, accountability, and positive reinforcement that I needed. Six months later, I have lost 25 pounds, decreased my body fat by 11%, and cut almost a minute off of my mile. I feel incredible! Thank you, Betsy!"

Tiffany Carpenter, lost 11 pounds in 2 months

 "Betsy, I can’t thank you enough for helping me lose that last 10 pounds! After years of trying to do it on my own and deciding it was just a 40-year-old metabolism, you helped me realize it didn’t have to be my normal. After two months I’m down 11 pounds, and I feel great! At 41 with two kids, I’m in the best shape of my life and weigh less than I did in high school. Not only did you help me lose the weight, but you’ve changed the way I think about food that will help me keep it off. I couldn’t have done it without you! You rock!"  

Keith Carver, lost 20 lbs

 "Betsy is a true professional. I have struggled with weight and nutrition issues for the past 20 years. Betsy designed an individualized plan that not only has led to weight loss, but has also taught me how to maintain a healthy lifestyle for years to come. Best of all, Betsy makes me feel like I am her only client. Her enthusiasm, knowledge and passion for her clients’ health and well-being is unmatched. I signed up as a client but have become an advocate for her. I am grateful for Betsy’s counsel and care. She’s one of a kind."

 
For more information, email betsy@betsynutrition.com today!